West African Economic and Monetary Union - UEMOA

West Africa
International Organisations

Main domain: 
Regional integration and policy support
80, Avenue Professeur Joseph KI-ZERBO 01 BP 543Ouagadougou
+226 25 31 88 73 à 76
(+226) 25 42 51 86
Name of the person in charge: 
Director of Higher Education and Vocational Training

Created on January 10, 1994 in Dakar, the West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA) has for essential objective, the construction, in West Africa, of a harmonized and integrated economic space, within which is ensured a total freedom of movement of people, capital, goods, services and factors of production, as well as the effective enjoyment of the right of exercise and establishment for the liberal professions, of residence for citizens throughout the community territory.

Eight coastal and Sahelian states, linked by the use of a common currency, the FCFA and benefiting from common cultural traditions, make up the WAEMU: Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Mali , Niger, Senegal and Togo. UEMOA covers an area of ​​3,506,126 km2 and has 120.2 million inhabitants.